FIA Formula 2

FIA Formula 2 is the ultimate training ground for Formula 1 -where the best drivers, at the peak of junior racing are given the ideal preparation for the pinnacle of motorsport.

FIA Formula 2 is a one-make championship consisting of up to 22 identical cars. The chassis are designed by Dallara Automobili, and run under the specification F2/18 car. The power units are all identical Mecachrome assembled 3.4L V6 single turbo charged engines.
All drivers use the same chassis, engine and Pirelli tyres, meaning the result is mainly down to the drivers in showcasing their skills both in speed and in managing tyres, as well as their theoretical understanding of the car setup and feedback.

Championship Format

A race weekend is composed of one practice session of forty-five minutes and one half hour qualifying session, followed by two races.

The qualifying session is a straight fight for fastest laptime, and determines the order of the grid for the Feature Race. Four points are awarded for pole position.

The 'Feature Race' consists of a race that is 75% the length of a Formula 1 Grand Prix - which also requires a mandatory pitstop to change tyres, preparing the drivers for the same scenarios they would experience upon graduating to F1.
The top ten drivers score points (25, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2, 1) with two points being awarded to the driver who set the fastest lap of the race.

Race two of the weekend is the 'Sprint Race', a shorter race with no mandatory pitstops - which runs usually in the morning before the Formula One Grand Prix.
The top eight finishers in the Sprint Race score points (15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2, 1), and the driver who sets the fastest lap scores two points.

Calendar & Circuits

The 2018 calendar travels alongside the Formula One World Championship's traditional European Season. The championship will also follow to a number of fly away events such as Bahrain (Sakhir), Baku (Azerbaijan) and Sochi (Russia).

Many iconinc races also feature on the calendar, such as Silverstone, Monza, Spa-Francorchamps and the Monaco Grand Prix.
The season finishes alongside Formula One at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi at the end of November, where the champion will be crowned.

The series benefits from a professional and experienced organisation to scrutineer the cars and oversee the running of all FIA F2 events, while FOM’s unparalleled expertise in the broadcasting and marketing of FIA F2 ensures that it has truly global reach and appeal.

All the races are shown on Sky Sports F1 HD at each round, providing the global spectacle that is the FIA Formula 2 Championship to a huge audience.

The step up to Formula One

Since the series was created, there has never been an F1 feeder category as successful as FIA F2 (formerly know as the GP2 Series).
Drivers that have won FIA F2 Races and Championships, that have gone onto reach Formula 1 include: Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg, Nico Hulkenberg, Stoffel Vandoorne, Pierre Gasly and most recently, Charles Leclerc.

All the circuits for the 2018 season are displayed below, view the circuits below to find out the date of each race, as well as George Russell's results at each round of the the 2018 FIA Formula 2 Championship.